Latest News


IPM KZN Announces New Office Bearers

2012-04-03 09:46:00

The Institute of People Management, KZN Branch, is proud to announce its Office Bearers for 2012-2013. They are: 
Chairperson: Mamello Liphoto Vice-Chairperson: Mxolisi Manyakanyaka Treasurer: Samandrie Govender Assistant Treasurer: Shamilla Essop
 Chairperson. Mamello Liphoto, holds a Master of Commerce Degree in Human Resource Management from the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN) where she graduated in 2006. She wrote a Dissertation on benefits and challenges experienced by organisations in the implementation of Human Resource information systems. She is currently HR Manager for Nedbank Retail in Branch Networks. Mamello started her career in HR in 2007 when she was recruited to join Toyota SA Motors as a Graduate Trainee, and appointed as an Assistant Human Resource Manager at the completion of the programme. In 2008 she gained full responsibility servicing one of the Plants at Toyota SA Motors with a complement of 600 employees as an Assistant Human Resource Manager. A year later she was given more responsibility to look after Toyota SA Motors Finance Department in 2009 to 2010. Mamello moved on to her present position at Nedbank and, apart from work, she is a humanitarian at heart. She is a member of Rotary International and currently President of the newly chartered Rotary Club of Durban Kingsmead.

 Vice-Chairperson, Mxolisi Manyakanyaka, is Human Resources Manager at Trade and Investment KZN. He holds a Diploma in HR from the Business Studies Unit while currently studying towards a in Management. He has recently also attained a Diploma in Organisational Design and Development through the Academy for Organisational Change SA (AOCSA). An active member of the Durban Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Mxolisi participates in a number of forums organised by the Durban Chamber and is presently Chairperson of the Chamber's HR Forum, through which he is also a Board member. Mxolisi has an interesting profile having started off as a trade unionist, working for the then Chemical Workers Industrial Union (Cosatu Affiliate) for 8 years. He rose through the ranks working as a general labourer in a chemical company for 9 years before joining the trade union on a full time basis. During his association with the union movement he studied labour law and developed skills in negotiation, facilitation and interpersonal skills. In 1996 Mxolisi joined Illovo Sugar and this is where his career as HR practitioner took shape. Starting as HR Officer, he moved into a training manager position (Agriculture Division) focusing on facilitating the strategic intent and the business understanding programme, before being promoted to HR Manager in 1998.

In 2002 he joined the textile industry (Prilla) as General Manager: Human Resources, the position he held until 28 February 2006. During this period he was the Vice-Chairman of the Employer Association (SACTPEA) and was actively involved in the formation of the National Textile Bargaining Council. Through Prilla, he was an active member of the Pietermaritzburg Chamber of Business and participated in a number of forums organised by the Chamber. He has recently been appointed as an Independent Director of UKZN Extended Learning

 IPM Treasurer, Samandrie Govender, has been actively involved with the IPM for the past 12 years and served as Vice-Chair for 3 years and then Chairperson for 3 years. Her enthusiasm for the IPM and her previous position as Chairperson greatly added value to the growing support for the KZN Branch of IPM. She was also elected as IPM Chairperson for the KZN Province prior to the recent changes which resulted in Durban becoming the KZN Branch. Samandrie received the IPM Empowerment Award at the 2006 IPM/TIKZN Women's Convention in Durban for her untiring role in promoting the interests of the IPM Durban Coastal Branch over the years and for being instrumental in putting it back on a sound financial footing. Samandrie was also the Convenor of the Annual IPM Women's Convention for many years before handing over the reins to her successor in 2009. In 2008, Samandrie received the IPM National Award for Excellence in People Management by a Line Manager, which was presented to her at the IPM National Convention in Sun City. Turning to her career, Samandrie was employed by First National Bank for 29 years. She previously headed various positions as HR Manager (KZN), Head of Branch Banking Homeloans KZN, Head of Marketing Homeloans KZN, Area Sales Manager for FNB Acquisitions and then Regional Head SpeedPoint KZN. She has an HR Diploma and has completed various exams with FNB. Samandrie passed the Financial Adviser's Examinations with distinction and was voted top National Sales Manager for the years 2005/2006, 2006/2007 and 2007/2008. Samandrie recently resigned from the Bank due to ill health. She is currently consulting as a Business Development Consultant for MultiSEARCH Recruitment Consulting. She will also continue to serve IPM as a Committee Member and Treasurer and has many years of experience to contribute.

 Assistant Treasurer, Shamilla Essop, holds a BA Psychology/Speech and Drama and Sociology, a PG Dip in HR and Fundamental Management Programme - UNISA. She is a Registered Chartered HR Practitioner through SABPP and a Member of the SA Organisational Development Network. Shamilla started her career with Nedbank Training as a Product Trainer (Instalment Credit) and then as Management Trainer. From there she joined McCarthy Limited and from 2001 to 2008 she was Training and Development Manager, responsible for managed learnerships, bursaries, study loans, all soft skills training for the group, registered assessor and moderator and registered facilitator with SAQA. Shamilla was promoted in 2008 and held the position of Group Talent Manager and Succession Planning Manager, looking after senior succession planning, leadership development and the leadership pipeline. She also managed recruitment nationally.
The KZN Branch of IPM is the most active and successful branch nationally and this has been proved by the fact that the KZN Branch has won the Branch of the Year Award for seven consecutive years from 2004 to 2010. Also the IPM National President, Raj Seeparsad, and two Board Members � Elaine Boulton and Dayalan Govender - are all from the KZN Branch.

Share:                      | Date: 2012-04-03 09:46:00
Go to article