tree nav

Public Holidays

KwaZulu-Natal is culturally diverse; traditional Christian events as well as those featured in the Muslim, Hindu, Jewish and other calenders are celebrated. The 12 officially recognised public holidays in South Africa are as follows:

Public Holidays

01 January New Year's Day
21 March Human Rights Day
Friday before Easter Sunday Good Friday
Monday after Easter Sunday Family Day
27 April Freedom Day
01 May Workers' Day
16 June Youth Day
09 August National Women's Day
24 September Heritage Day
16 December Day of Reconciliation
25 December Christmas Day
26 December

Day of Goodwill












When the public holiday falls on a Sunday, the first working Monday immediately after the Sunday holiday is regarded as a public holiday.